Life / Quotes

12 Sentences That Defined My 2012

Photo: Sony

Photo: Sony

I heard it said once that it’s not actually books that change people, but sentences. People don’t walk around holding onto chapters of truth. We need nuggets of wisdom. It is the simple yet profound words that can change the course of a person’s life.

The Gospel hinges on seven words being true:
Our Savior is born.
He is risen.

2012 has been a year I will never forget. Much of it consisted of some serious trials but standing where I am now I look back and in the words of Paul, I count it all joy! God has met my weakness and shown himself strong. He has met my needs and shown himself to be more than enough. He has met my doubts and shown himself to be near. Words cannot do justice to my gratitude towards Him, but here are a few truths to hold onto.

I do not know what tomorrow will hold, but I know the One who holds tomorrow.

Stop waiting for permission to live your life. Only you can give yourself permission to chase your dream. – Jon Acuff

How much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! (Mathew 7:11b)

There can be no intimacy without vulnerability. – Brene Brown

God did not lower his standard for us. Instead, he raised it infinitely and then met it in Christ.

Your something could change everything for someone.

What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. (Matthew 10:27)

Focus on becoming the person God wants you to be, and what he wants you to do will take care of itself.

His commands are only as hard to obey as his promises are hard to believe. – John Piper

The deep things of God are given to those who thirst for them. – Bach

His way is in the storm. – Stephen Charnock

God gives where he finds empty hands. – St. Augustine

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “12 Sentences That Defined My 2012

  1. Very encouraging post:
    This quote stood out the most for me -” Focus on becoming the person God wants you to be, and what he wants you to do will take care of itself”. Is this your thoughts?

    • Thank you. And yes it is. It’s something I’ve had to wrestle with these last two years and as I read through Scripture this truth became very clear. God is much more concerned with our character than our vocation. It requires a real shift in thinking but its worth it because even though jobs come and go your character can remain consistent so you can glorify God in any circumstance.

  2. Great post! My favorite that you shared was this one: “God did not lower his standard for us. Instead, he raised it infinitely and then met it in Christ.” =) Have a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

