Books / Jesus

Book Review: I Am

I’ve stumbled onto great things once or twice in my life.

I stumbled upon a small restaurant in Virginia that had some of the best pulled-pork I ever tasted.
I stumbled upon the band Flyleaf in 10th grade which spiraled into a seven year long (and counting!) love affair.
And now it seems I have stumbled upon one of my favorite books of 2012.

 

Photo: Amazon

Photo: Amazon

 

Iain Campbell is a minister in Scotland. He’s an avid writer and blogger and has shown up on the reformed circuit a handful of times. When I saw that he had written a book on the Gospel of John I was nervously excited. John is in so many ways the heart of the New Testament. Whereas Luke and Paul and Peter write thick, heady treatises; John targets the heart. And anyone attempting to do justice to John’s Gospel must have a heart as ravished for Jesus as the disciple did.

After reading I Am I believe Iain fits that description.

I Am examines the 7 I am sayings of Jesus, I am the…

  • Bread
  • Light
  • Door
  • Shepherd
  • Resurrection
  • Way
  • Vine

I’ve read both expository and textual/historical critical pieces on the Gospels and still there was not a single chapter in the book where I did not learn something exceptionally beautiful. One example is how Jesus saying he is the light ties back to the symbolic closing of the Feast of Tabernacles – this is something you have to read in full to see how incredible it is.

Iain makes many of these connections, both with Jewish culture and Old Testament imagery, and constructs an elaborate portrait of what Jesus meant with each phrase. Furthermore, the book is beautifully written. It’s a preachers voice delivered in a friend’s tone.

This book exploded its way into my top 5 books of 2012. Do yourself a favor and add it to your reading list in 2013.

A few quotes:

It was through eating that we [fell into sin]. And it is also through eating [our souls are restored]. (18)

To taste heaven’s bread is to have something in the soul to whet the appetite for the marriage supper of the Lamb (25)

Sin always produces a loss. (33)

The glory of this door is that it is not locked. It is not even closed. (53)

*I was able to review this book thanks to Cross Focused ReviewsYou can find a copy of the book and read more reviews about it here.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Book Review: I Am

  1. Pingback: I Am… Exploring the ‘I am’ sayings of John’s Gospel Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

