Beauty / Worship

4 Favorite Hymns

I love old hymns but they seem to get a bad wrap in today’s culture. Some criticize them for being to slow or irrelevant. It’s true, there are many hymns that would go right over our heads in worship or put us to sleep, but we should not sweep out the whole hymnal because of a few un-producing seeds. Many more hymns are absolute jewels that were written at critical times in their authors’ lives. They have so much to offer, so I wanted to share a few of my favorites.


Mathai is one of my favorite singers and this song always reminds me that God is paying attention.


This is my all-time favorite hymn. This is what I pray when I can’t find the words.


A new favorite of mine, I had the privilege of singing this with a handful of older saints in a small chapel service. The way they sang it made me feel every word. I want this song to be increasingly true for me.


I believe if Abraham, Job, or Moses could pick any hymn this would be the one. Their confidence in God so trumped their hope in this world that they were able to endure impossible circumstances and say, it is well with my soul.

Question: What is your favorite hymn?

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “4 Favorite Hymns

  1. His Eye is on the Sparrow is good one =) Lauren Chandler’s rendition is probably my fav. Other favorites… You are My Vision, You are Faithful, All Creatures of Our God and King, and Come Thou Font… there’s a lot.

Leave a Reply

