Bible / Exhaustion / God / Strength

What Constitutes "All Things" In Phil 4:13

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians  4:13
How have we perverted this? How have we taken a promise and turned it into a tool?
It is so easy to do and then do more in this culture. And if you’re one of the few who does less, you are looked down upon as inefficient; which may be the closest thing to sin as our non-Christian culture has understanding of. 
I am not advising slothfulness, but I am asking you to read that verse differently. Personally, I focus on the first three words much more than the rest of the verse: I can do.
What canI do? How much can I do? Is there a limit? Apparently not, because in that logic I can do all things, which in my own world means every single responsibility I accept. I can go around, adding adding and adding to my already full schedule and then turn to God and say “Alright God, pump me up cause I have a full dayahead of me.”
I hope yousee how wrong that is.
We are notliving a life that is exclusively through Jesus,we are supposed to be pursuing a life ofJesus. Of him, by him, for him but most of all towards him. We lose thatperspective in our busy-ness. And when we lose Christ as our center, we lose somuch more.
Phil 4:8-9
Finally, brothers,whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure,whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, ifthere is anything worthy of praise, thinkabout these things.  What you have learned and received and heard andseen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will bewith you.
You are what you do andyou do what think. Paul is building an idea here that culminates in verse 13.And hopefully you will see it’s different than the one we usually use.
Phil 4:11-12
Not that I amspeaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how tobe brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I havelearned the secret of facing plenty and hunger,abundance and need.
The all thingswe are supposed to be doing and that he is supposed to be strengthening us towardsis not simply our everyday tasks but the formation of character and contentmentwithin us. That is not to say Jesus does not concern himself and strengthen in whatwe need to do. But he wants so much more from us and for us. To be honorable,pure, excellent and worthy of praise are all things outside of our grasp apartfrom Him. That’s why he promises – I will strengthen you in all of thesethrough myself.
That is thegodliness half of it, but what must be added? 1Timothy 6:6 – to have great gainwe must submit to contentment. And this, to be content in every circumstance is the gift of God’s strengthening.
Moving amillion miles an hour in a thousand directions is not what God wants to bestrengthening us towards. He wants you to stop moving and finally be moved.
2 Peter 1:3 
His divinepower has granted to us 
all things 
that pertain to life and godliness, throughthe knowledge of him
One thought on “What Constitutes "All Things" In Phil 4:13

Leave a Reply

