Uncategorized

Haiti: Mountain-Sized Grace Part 2

(journal excerpt 6.22)

God’s lesson for the day: grace. 

We brought a good amount of supplies: as much as we could honestly carry, but the need was too great and our resources too few. So I had to learn the hand motion for ‘I have no more.’ It’s a simple washing-hands sort of motion. And I had to do it over and over and over again. If you allow God, He can and will teach you through all sorts of things; as he did with the hand motion. 

I have no more, I have nothing; finally it clicked. God said to me, look around – I love these children like I love you. But there is nothing about you which makes you more worthy than them, no qualities which make you more deserving. You are just like them, only my grace sets you apart; only my love makes you who you are. It is only because of Me.

I have nothing but what God has given. Whether that be wealth, intelligence, opportunity, or health; you name it, it was a gift. It’s humbling and freeing and necessary. My pride blinds me, sets me upon a pedestal built with air and lies. God must increase, I must decrease. 

Ephesians 2:8
For it is by grace…not from yourselves, 
it is the gift of God
Leave a Reply

